The Anton Webern Gesamtausgabe (AWG) is a critical-historical edition which aims to make Webern’s entire oeuvre accessible to musical scholarship and practice in a scholarly form. The edition includes not only all the works Webern himself had forwarded to be printed but also their unpublished variants. It also includes compositions that were never made public in his lifetime, works from his youth and student years, as well as fragments, sketches, arrangements and revisions of his and other scores.

The AWG is based at the Musicology Seminar of the University of Basel and works in close collaboration with the Paul Sacher Stiftung (Basel), which holds most of Webern's existing source material. The Swiss National Scientific Foundation has supported its activities since October 2006.
Furthermore, since 2008 an office has been set up in Vienna in cooperation with the Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften. Its aim is to find new information and undisclosed documents concerning the history, the reception, and the historical context of Webern’s oeuvre. Since January 2010 this collaboration has been extended thanks to a grant from the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.

The AWG will be released in a Hybrid Print-Online Edition, the printed volumes being published by Universal Edition (Vienna).

The AWG understands itself as a centre of competence comprising, beside its editorial work, a network of archival, documentary, analytical, communication, service-providing, and organizational activities.
März 2018
New Online-article published: Thomas Ahrend, Stefan Münnich: "Anton Webern", in: Oxford Bibliographies in Music (28.3.2018). DOI: 10.1093/obo/9780199757824-0238.

eptember 2017
The Anton Webern Gesamtausgabe has assembled the worldwide largest bibliography on Webern with more than 2000 entries available online. It provides a comprehensive overview of the international scholarly engagement with Anton Webern from 1907 to 2017.
Examples of the printed Webern literature

December 2016
Program of February, 8 1910 found in The Karl Weigl Papers at Yale University:


May 2016
Webern-Studien 3 published:

Webern-Philologien, ed. Thomas Ahrend and Matthias Schmidt, Vienna: Lafite, 2016 (Webern-Studien 3).

January 2016

Issue of Musiktheorie on Webern and Segantini:

Anton Webern und Giovanni Segantini
, ed. Thomas Ahrend and Matthias Schmidt, Laaber: Laaber, 2015 (Musiktheorie 30/4).